Back in to a Fish Tank

Hey hey readers. If I’m going to blog I might as well make them interesting. You know I’m not THAT guy, so this might be as interesting as it gets.

I’ve shared about my plants and moving right along I think I’m just about ready to move on and try to keep a fish alive. If you didn’t know they have this saying about recovery and ultimately relationships while in early recovery I believe. Or just a good rule of thumb in general.

Get a plant. If in 4 weeks it’s still alive get a fish. If the fish is still alive in 2 months get a cat/dog. If everything is still alive and THRIVING including yourself in 6 months get a human.

Im pretty sure I’m paraphrasing but that’s the “it goes something like” version.

As I’ve learned about myself over the last 2/3 year impulsive, rash and not well thought plans never seem to go the right way for very long in my life. So lately I have been taking a much calmer gradual pace at life. And that has extended into my hobby of fish husbandry. Cause the old me would have a 4 fully stocked tanks by now.

I’ve played around with aquascaping before as I’ve brought up here on my blog. I never felt like it was a good effort because for the scape I wanted I lacked the one thing (minus CO2) it required, patience. Oddly enough I have the upmost patience when it comes to plants. Watering seemingly empty pots and containers for weeks until one magic day. The records shows that I fill a tank with some kind of stock within the first 30/60 days.

Well not this time. And yea before you ask it is killing me. Visit my Snapchat for daily updates of nothing visibly changing. Depending on how long you have been flowing my blog or how far back your read at least under the fish page you may be familiar with the “Zen Garden”. Don’t matter anyhow I’m about bring it up anyways.

So the Zen Garden went through a few changes in its early days mostly because it was my first live planted tank and also because I have a very indecisive personality. It’s final design was a shrimp and snail planted tank with a pair of 24k gold white cloud minnows. Ehhh. Ringing a bell now. Cause I’m jogging my own memory.

Happy and sad feelings. Great it was my first. Learned a lot. Unfortunate I no longer have that set up. Mainly happy thoughts because I’ve learned from my mistakes and the errors I made in the first go round like the “GASSING” RIP chocolate le sigh.

So this time around no stock (maybe snails or shrimp if NECESSARY cause algae or something) until it proves to be a WELL established planted tank. I have found plants that grows speedy even with out co2 and easy for beginners. So if you have planted tanks weather fully established or just started out please send in those pictures I would love to see them.

To help myself “keep calm” about the weight I tried something new or rather never properly done. Growing aquarium plants immersed and then switching them to their submersed state. Adds a new step and makes the wait time seem shorter giving there’s a halfway mark. Being the replanting and the submersing. It’s so like me but I have no idea what aquarium plants I am growing from seeds. If I have to guess one looks like some type of hair grass and the other some type of clover. So if you’ve purchase aquarium seeds and you might can help me classify the one I have I would greatly appreciate the help.

Of course I bought other stock from the store to give the aqua scape a deep dense look also because I can’t buy fish to put in yet. I kept the tags as well as took pictures so I’ll be able to properly identify those plants in the tank. Sorry to inform you readers I will not be disclosing that on my blog at this time. That is because I am also documenting the journey of this tank on video so make sure to check that out and see a clear view and some video comparison on my YouTube channel. PS: I’ve had fans say they have trouble finding it. If that’s you message me and I can send you the direct link.

Still playing the waiting game and honestly this tank has a ways to go and it won’t be until it’s finished when I release the information here on my blog. Don’t be like that. Normally the readers get everything first. But I’ll leave this wordy blog on another good suprise. I may not be able to buy stock for my….. tank(s) but I’m happy for other reasons. Quantity over quality. 1 is nice, 2 is better. …. Guessed it yet ??

Ok the secret is I’m currently working on more than one tank. The Zen Garden.5 is the slow to start tank. But the tank soon to be called “the Mississippi” is a fast set up for someone other than myself. Guess who gets the behind the scenes stuff first for that project. Yup. That right you guys all 1.5k of my subscribers.

Next in this series is going to be trips down memory lane, do and donts, lessons learned, opinions,facts and myths. Since ya know, we’ll be wait on the planted tank to decides to be established. Look forward to seeing you back here soon.

-K

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.